Pride in Our Carers Awards 2017

21st February 17

Pride in Our Carers Awards 2017

Nominate now in Cambridgeshire and Peterborough

Carers Trust Cambridgeshire is delighted to announce the launch of Cambridgeshire & Peterborough’s Pride in Our Carers Awards 2017 – and invites nominations to honour family carers and carer friendly professionals and organisations that go the extra mile.

For the second year running we are celebrating the fantastic work of countless unpaid carers of all ages in Cambridgeshire and Peterborough.  This is your chance to say ‘Thank You’!

The results will be announced at a ceremony in Cambridge on Tuesday, 13 June during national Carers Week 2017 (12-18 June). This will be run in partnership with Cambridgeshire and Peterborough NHS Foundation Trust, Peterborough City Council and Cambridgeshire County Council.

Dr Helen Brown, CEO of Carers Trust Cambridgeshire, said: “This is a fantastic opportunity for us to celebrate family carers of all ages, with increasing numbers in their eighties and nineties and not in the best of health themselves, who have a dedicated caring role without receiving any recognition for what they do. This is a chance for people to show their appreciation for them, as well as the carer friendly GP practices, health and social care professionals, teachers and community organisations and businesses that support family carers.

“The first ever Pride in Our Carers Awards was held last year and was a great success. It was a very humbling and moving experience to hear so many poignant stories about selfless family carers in our community and the great examples of how some people and employers helped them. We want to hear many more this year. Family carers are our unsung heroes and we hope the Awards will inspire more employers and community groups to learn about them and raise the bar in the support they offer unpaid carers.”

The deadline for nominations is Monday 17 April 2017. They will be judged by an independent panel of carers and professionals.

Who can I nominate?

The simple answer is any informal carer givers of any age or community groups, organisations and businesses (or people in them) who have made a difference to family carers in their community. The Awards particularly want to recognise organisations and individuals who are carer friendly and regularly lead by example in their support for carers.

What are the categories?

  • Family Carer of the Year
  • Young Carer of the Year
  • Carer Friendly Employer of the Year
  • Carer Friendly Health Award
  • Carer Friendly Social Care
  • Carer Friendly Voluntary Organisation
  • Carer Friendly School

How do I nominate?

Complete the online form below or download the Nomination Form.

Phone 01480 499090, or email [email protected] to request a form.

How you can help promote the awards

Download the poster to display in your workplace, community venue, GP surgery, etc.